Dare County restricting access to non-resident Outer Banks property owners tonight

Checkpoint at the Wright Memorial Bridge on March 17, 2020. [Kari Pugh photo]

The Dare County Control Group met Friday evening, March 20, and has decided to prohibit non-resident property owners from entering the county beginning tonight at 10 p.m.

“The intent of this declaration is to decrease the risk of exposure and limit the spread of COVID-19 in Dare County by eliminating non-essential travel, thereby reducing the number of individuals in the county and ultimately reducing potential virus spread and the burden on our healthcare system,” the group said in a statement. Access will be restricted at the bridges into Dare County, which includes the beach towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo and all of Hatteras Island.

“It is imperative to take measures to mitigate the consequences of COVID-19 and not overwhelm our healthcare system so it can care for those who are at most risk and continue to provide routine medical and emergency services,” the statement said.

Previous restrictions including the prohibition of mass gatherings and the entry of visitors remain in place.

“While disappointing for many people who enjoy spending time on the Outer Banks, these decisions are made in the interest of preserving the public health, safety and welfare of our community,” the control group said.

This story originally appeared on OBXToday.com. Read More local stories here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.