Dare County Arts Council breaks ground for new courtyard

Dare County Arts Council’s Courtyard Groundbreaking Ceremony. Pictured (L-R)- DCAC Executive Director Chris Sawin, Dare County Board of Commissioners Vice Chairman Wally Overman, DCAC President Randi O’Sullivan, and Town of Manteo Mayor Bobby Owens. Photo courtesy of Biff Jennings.

Civic leaders, artists, visitors, art supporters and many other members of the Outer Banks community gathered at Dare County Arts Council for the Courtyard Project’s Groundbreaking Ceremony on Tuesday, March 3.

“The Courtyard Groundbreaking Ceremony was a wonderful event that was well planned and well executed,” said Town of Manteo Mayor Bobby Owens. “I am looking forward to seeing the growth of the Arts Council and Manteo.”

The Courtyard Project is Dare County Arts Council’s initiative to create a beautiful new art space in the heart of downtown Manteo.

“The county is grateful for our partnership with the Dare County Arts Council,” said Dare County Board of Commissioners Vice Chairman Wally Overman. “We appreciate the Council’s spirit, energy and dedication to keep the historic Dare County Courthouse at the heart of the community. The courtyard will be a special place to celebrate our rich cultural heritage and the arts for generations to come.”

The new courtyard, designed by Ben Cahoon of Cahoon + Kasten Architects, will host a wide variety of art events when it is complete.

“We have been working on this project for a number of years, and it is so exciting to see everything getting underway,” said Dare County Arts Council President Randi O’Sullivan. “The new courtyard’s features will allow us to offer more opportunities to our community including additional programs, outdoor artwork, workshops and artist demonstrations.”

Dare County Arts Council’s courtyard will open in this fall.

For more information about this project or to make a donation toward the courtyard, please contact Dare County Arts Council at 252-473-5558 or visit DareArts.org/courtyardproject.

Thank you to the Percy W. & Elizabeth G. Meekins Charitable Trust, Dare County Tourism Board, Outer Banks Community Foundation, The Cannon Foundation, The Camp-Younts Foundation, Dominion Energy, Southern Bank Foundation, Lowe’s, Walmart Giving, Ace Hardware, The McLaughlin Family Charitable Fund and generous community donors for supporting this project.

This project is funded in part by the Dare County Tourism Board.

Dare County Arts Council is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit arts organization dedicated to encouraging the arts in Dare County through advocacy, enrichment and opportunity.

This story originally appeared on OBXToday.com. Read More local stories here.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.